Christmas is Only 5 days Away

Merry Christmas

Christmas is such a very special time of the year for almost everyone, and I can’t help but feel like it is extra special for me this year.  I just feel so blessed to be surrounded by so much love in my life.  Between my incredible family and soon-to-be family and my dear friends, I don’t think life can be much better.

One of my favorite things about Christmas is not buying the most expensive or glamorous presents but, taking the time to find something that is thoughtful or sentimental as a way to show someone just how much you care.

Lucky for me Mr. Chadwick has the same mindset, but he does it better that anyone I have ever met.  I unfortunately learned this the hard way early on in our relationship.  Mr. Chadwick and I’s first Christmas was soon after we had started dating.  We had only been seeing each other for a few months, so I had a “I’m not sure what to do on this first major holiday,” approach.  I had teased Chadwick relentlessly about his, at the time, preference for instant coffee.  I didn’t even know that such a thing had existed and I was skeptical to say the least that something so horrid could be any where near as delightful as a warm cup of freshly brewed Starbucks.  So, after agonizing over what to get him I had this brilliant (or so I thought) idea to buy him a coffeemaker.  It was practical so not too serious and kind of funny since the whole coffee thing has been an ongoing joke between us.

He however, was not messing around.  He went full force with Christmas gifts ranging from thoughtful(an office calendar, my fav show at the time)  to practical (a gym bag) to incredible (a beautiful cashmere scarf) and beyond.  I remember opening up gift after gift thinking worse and worse about my decision to go the safe route with the coffeemaker.  I had been reluctant to go BIG our first Christmas for fear that I would be making my self too vulnerable and get hurt, when he might not get me anything.  Boy was I wrong!  That first Christmas showed me a lot about this man I was falling for.  Not only does he love to make other people happy but, he does so without expecting anything in return.

Throughout the past few years I have tried to meet his Christmas challenge and feel as though I fail miserably every time.  He always seem to get me something so perfect and thoughtful and awesome that I don’t think I will ever top his natural born talent.  But, I look forward to keep trying year after year for the rest of my life <3

Merry Christmas Everyone!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Pat

     /  December 20, 2012

    Becky,
    You write from the heart , you almost make me cry!! Loved your Christmas card and hope you have a very Merry Christmas and another wonderful New Year!

    Reply

Spread the Love

Inspiring Photos Forever

Inspiring People

pretty little loser 22

After my 105 pound weight loss, I started this blog to inspire and motivate others to live a healthy lifestyle!

MeridianBride

DIY Wedding Invitations For Your Perfect Day

The Sparkly Blog

FOR ALL OF LIFE'S SPARKLY MOMENTS

whimsy and whit

"She lets her imagination run away with her"

