Say Yes to the Dress, UPDATED

Ok, so I know I told you I found my dress, but I have had a change of heart.  The dress that I had found with the help of the dress whisperer Randy is gorgeous and I love it but, there was just something missing.  I think that is one of the reasons I felt like I had to sleep on it.  I was originally super excited about the many alterations I had planned for the dress because it would really make it unique.  However, I kept have these nightmares of like a Frankenstein dress and I just couldn’t do it.

Here we are months later and I am still searching.  This past Saturday Mom and I had another appointment.  The ladies were so nice and the dresses were beautiful, they were just for a different bride. The more I try on dresses the more I realize how impossible it is to find what I want without many costly alterations, err Frankenstein dress nightmares…

After thinking about it I realized if I was going to invest in numerous alterations it wasn’t going to be on an off the rack dress.  It was going to be on my Mom’s dress, which is honestly something I never thought I would say.  I was even stubbornly resistant to trying Mom’s dress on at all.  I was just concerned that I would try it on and not like it and she would lay the Ruth smackdown of pressure on for me to wear it on my BIG day.  We all know she is a force to be reckoned with, where do you think I got it from. Lol!  But, something happened when I slipped it on.  I fell in love! I fell in love with the history, with the meaning, with the lace, with the veil.  There are so many elements of my Mom’s dress that I absolutely love.  The lace.  I mean shut the front door its insanely beautiful.  I also love that it has sleeves.  So many dresses today are strapless.  I am also obsessed with the cathedral veil, which is the last thing I thought I would love.  I was planning on going with a tiny birdcage and here I am starring at myself in the mirror in this regal cathedral veil with a life of its own and loving every second of it!

For those of you that haven’t seen my Mom’s dress here she is with Dad looking amazing on her BIG day:

Scan0001 (2)

I decided to get to work researching local dressmakers. I found  Carol’s Custom Dressmaking in New Windsor.  If anyone has worked with her please leave a comment with your experience.  I have read a few reviews online and most of them are really positive, so I felt comfortable setting up a consultation.  If I can get all of the updates done within my budget this is going to be what I wear on my BIG day too, so wish me luck!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Aunt Joy

     /  May 28, 2013

    Yayyyyyyyyyyyy! I’m with you on this one. The dress is beautiful (and you look so amazing Ruthie….and you too Darrell)….and I know you are going to be able to alter it to make it wonderfully yours!! Yet, still keeping it a little bit your moms. I mean, could it get more perfect than that for a wedding dress? I think not! Congratulations on your selection! That’s one more thing done!

    Reply
  2. That is such a thoughtful and beautiful decision. Your mom must be thrilled. Congratulations. Love, Mary Jo

    Reply
  1. Wedding Word to the Wise | Soon to Be a Mrs.

Spread the Love

Inspiring Photos Forever

Inspiring People

pretty little loser 22

After my 105 pound weight loss, I started this blog to inspire and motivate others to live a healthy lifestyle!

MeridianBride

DIY Wedding Invitations For Your Perfect Day

The Sparkly Blog

FOR ALL OF LIFE'S SPARKLY MOMENTS

whimsy and whit

"She lets her imagination run away with her"