Wedding Word to the Wise

Wedding planning has been such a learning process for me.  Between managing the stress, keeping the love alive, and the actual planning it’s been a whirlwind.  So, I thought I would look back on the past 6 months of planning and share some of the insights I’ve learned so far to help out all of the other brides-to-be starting out the planning process. Here is my wedding word to the wise…

#1 Time flys when you’re in love.  Not only are you kind of floating around on cloud nine because the man/woman that you love popped the question, but you are also on the brink of planning one of the biggest events of your life.  While it seems like you have plenty of time, you don’t.  There is way more involved in planning than you could have ever imagined.  I would advise you to start early so you can allow for changes in plan if you need to and then you don’t have to rush through or not do something that is important to you.  For example, our venue search was a much more lengthy process that I had originally thought and that was only the beginning.  Finding a place that was within our budget, in our area, and that we loved was tough (see here).  I am so happy that we started this process so early or I would have been stressing out hardcore.

#2 Press pause on the planning.  While it does a bride good to start early it is just as important to unplug from the planning hamster wheel and replug into your love life from time to time.  Whether it’s just a date night where wedding talk is not allowed or an perhaps an actual vacation.  I highly recommend it!  The Mr. and I did a little of both last weekend.  We went on a little staycation.  To ensure that we enjoyed each other company to the fullest extent I vowed not to do any wedding planning, brainstorming, DIYIng, etc.  It was so nice to just not even think about it for a few days.  I will admit it got to be a little tough towards the end, I had to bite my tongue from bouncing off wedding ideas, but I did and we survived.  We got to be just us.  Two people spending time together and loving every second of it, no wedding planning/saving/DIYing stress at all.

#3 Don’t let ANYONE tell you that you HAVE TO do anything. You don’t. (You really really don’t). Do what will make you the happiest even if it means pissing people off temporarily. When your vision comes to fruition, you’ll be psyched and they’ll most likely get over it and/or be impressed.

#4 Be open-minded. I’ll reiterate the above point once again…don’t let anyone tell you that you have to do anything.  But, also don’t let your visions of what your BIG day will look like get in the way of things you hadn’t originally thought about.  You may think you know what you want your wedding cake to look like, or what you’d be wearing on your big day, but use these visions as a starting point not the end all be all.  As mentioned here, I was stubbornly resistant to trying on my Mom’s dress at all.  If I didn’t relax and just try it on I wouldn’t have fell in love with her beautiful heirloom dress and we wouldn’t be sharing the process of restoring and redesigning it together, which would have been be a real shame. Speaking of which, here is a little sneak peek of a sketch I created for our first consultation with the dressmaker for those of you who haven’t seen it yet:

Wedding Dress Plans

#5 Relish the Moments, Relinquish the Stress.  I tend to get caught up in the details and that can be a slippery slope of stress.  So, I try to consciously remind myself  to relish the moments, the moments of sheer joy.  There are so many of them like: writing my vows the process so far has been a beautiful reflection on the simplicity of our love or talking to my nieces and soon to be nieces about being in our wedding…it’s so cute to see their little faces light up talking about it.  And it is also hysterical to listen to some of the questions they have (i.e. Chey asked if she could wear her cowgirl boots.  Of course I said yes.  How could I get between a girl and her boots?  Now to just find somewhat wedding appropriate wedding cowgirl boots, this should be interesting LOL). It’s moments like this that I want to remember forever, not the moments when I’m on the verge of tears because the return address stamp for our wedding invites doesn’t come with white ink…that may or may not have happened.

Hopefully these tips and insights into my wedding planning process helps some of you out.  If any of you out there have more inspiration to share with me or other brides-to-be please share in the comments.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Upcycled Vintage Wedding Dress 101 | Soon to Be a Mrs.

Spread the Love

Inspiring Photos Forever

Inspiring People

pretty little loser 22

After my 105 pound weight loss, I started this blog to inspire and motivate others to live a healthy lifestyle!

MeridianBride

DIY Wedding Invitations For Your Perfect Day

The Sparkly Blog

FOR ALL OF LIFE'S SPARKLY MOMENTS

whimsy and whit

"She lets her imagination run away with her"

