Bridal Shows: Do or Don’t

Before becoming a bride I never really had a good opinion of bridal shows.  I think it stems back to when I used to intern for this amazing cafe in London and the owner was asked to join numerous bridal shows because of the cake masterpieces they create, but he refused.  He kept reiterating the atmosphere of desperation at most shows and how it just wasn’t his scene.  So, before ever attending one I had this fear of intense sales pitches and awkward conversations…and trust me after going to 3 shows since I got engaged there are some out there like that.  But, there are some that are not.  Yesterday I was lucky enough to win a free ticket to attend the intrigued 2013 bridal fair and flower showcase.  Intrigue designs did a really fun instagram contest and lucky me won!

intrigued2013

First of all I was so excited to win the ticket because I never win anything lol.  But, I was even more excited when I arrived; intrigue designs went all out and the florals were gorgeous! Check them out:

Also, all of the vendors that attended were really nice and conversational and of course discussed their services but, not in an obnoxious way.  I had a great time getting to know each of them.  I didn’t really have much of an expectation as far as booking anything for our wedding because most of our big decisions have been made, but I was wrong.

The ladies from Behind the Veil were awesome, I loved the ribbon back drop behind their booth.  I don’t know if they were responsible for it or intrigued but, either way gorgeous! Also, I was so excited to hear from one of their artists, Ashley, that they are able to do the finger wave.  My most coveted hairstyle for the BIG day.  I had all but, given up because I had called an upwards of 15 stylists/salons/etc. and none of them were able to do it.  I can’t wait to schedule my trial with them. Yay!

And if you love a little southern charm and really who doesn’t?!  The Cake Courtesan is your answer for dessert display and wedding cakes.  All of their treats were ridiculously good! Yesterday they were serving strawberry champagne macarons.  Need I say more.  Plus, this gorgeous cake was on display…

The Cake Courtesan

I mean look at that fondant work.  IMPRESSIVE! I am an avid cake connoisseur myself not necessary always baking but, I stalk various cake shops on instagram and such and I must say I have never seen anything like this.  It was incredibly intricate and oh so glamorous! After chatting with the ladies I learned that they specialize in upscale southern style desserts and wedding cakes. I may have to make a trip up to Bowie to taste their banana pudding dessert shooters.  How good does that sound?!

So at the end of the day I say a Bridal Show is a Do.  I would recommend going with little to no expectations and just hope for the best.  You never know what connections you might make :)

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Pat Baughman

     /  August 19, 2013

    Becky, I look forward to reading your posts- you do a terrific job! Keep them coming!

    Sent from my iPad

    Reply

Spread the Love

Inspiring Photos Forever

Inspiring People

pretty little loser 22

After my 105 pound weight loss, I started this blog to inspire and motivate others to live a healthy lifestyle!

MeridianBride

DIY Wedding Invitations For Your Perfect Day

The Sparkly Blog

FOR ALL OF LIFE'S SPARKLY MOMENTS

whimsy and whit

"She lets her imagination run away with her"

