Fitness Friday with Larisa

Confession: I am completely smitten with Halloween! It’s one of my favorite holidays…it’s like a theme party on steroids and there can never be enough theme parties in my life.  I love the costumes, I love the decorations, I love haunted houses, I love Hocus Pocus, and I love the candy!!!  If no one was watching I could probably eat the entire bag of the REESE’S Peanut Butter Pumpkins… they are my kryptonite!

But, I will resist! And instead of stuffing my face with 170 calories, 10 g fat (3 g saturated), 16 g sugars in each one of those I decided to look into an alternative. Enter Black Bean Brownies.  Sounds gross I know! I was skeptical…and a little angry when I tasted the batter and it was disgusting! But, something magical happens in the oven when you bake these bad boys.  They come out fudgey and chocolaty and delicious! Go ahead and let your kids eat their Halloween candy. Don’t be the parent who steals from their child’s trick or treat stash.  Bake these Larisa approved treats instead…trust!

black bean brownies

recipe adapted from chocolate covered katie

Ingredients:

2 15-oz cans, black beans (drained and rinsed very well)
4 tbsp cocoa powder (Ghirardelli Unsweetened Cocoa is my fav budget friendly option)
1 cup quick oats
1/2 tsp salt
2/3 cup pure maple syrup
4 tbsp baking truvia
1/2 cup coconut oil
4 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips
1 cup shelled walnuts

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 F.

2. Combine all ingredients except chips & walnuts in a good food processor, and blend until completely smooth. Really blend well.

3. Pour the blended batter into a bowl and then fold in just 1 cup of the chips.

4. Spoon the batter into cupcake liners. I use an ice cream scoop with the little release to make it easier.  This way you make little individual brownies with all of the yummy crunchy edges, so no one has to fight over the corners of the pan :)  Then sprinkle the extra 1/2 cup chocolate chips & shelled walnuts over the top.

4. Get these bad boys in the over and bake them for 15-18 minutes, then let cool at least 10 minutes before trying to eat them.  It’s worth the wait! It makes 20-24 brownies depending on how big your scoops are…

5. Enjoy!

Next Post
Leave a comment

Spread the Love

Inspiring Photos Forever

Inspiring People

pretty little loser 22

After my 105 pound weight loss, I started this blog to inspire and motivate others to live a healthy lifestyle!

MeridianBride

DIY Wedding Invitations For Your Perfect Day

The Sparkly Blog

FOR ALL OF LIFE'S SPARKLY MOMENTS

whimsy and whit

"She lets her imagination run away with her"

